| Visit Our Catalog at SteelGuitarShopper.com |

Goto page 1, 2  Next
Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Copedent
Phill Morris

South Wales, UK
Post  Posted 9 Jan 2007 3:45 pm    

Hi Guys
As I said before I am new to steel playing ..
Silly question No one
What is a Copedent ?? either fixed or not .
I have seen this mentioned a few times and have no idea what you are all on about .
Thanks
Phill
Cliff Kane

the late great golden state
Post  Posted 9 Jan 2007 3:55 pm    

Hi Phil,
welcome aboard. You know, steel guitar is addictive, so we're all COdePEnDENT here Laughing

Actually, it's a term that was coined by Tom Bradshaw that refers to the tuning and how the pedals and levers work in the tuning. Here's the link to some pedal steel tunings, or copedents:
http://b0b.com/tunings/

Cheers,
Cliff
b0b

Cloverdale, CA, USA
Post  Posted 9 Jan 2007 4:13 pm    

Here's the Wikipedia entry.

Crosby, Texas, USA
Post  Posted 10 Jan 2007 4:08 pm    

It's what you want it to be.

Colby
Ray Minich

Bradford, Pa. Frozen Tundra
Post  Posted 12 Jan 2007 5:53 am    

AHA!!!!

In Tom Bradshaw's book on Chord Construction (which he started in 1965, and I have the 1977 edition), Tom expalins the use, application, spelling, and pronounciation of the word "copedEnt". It's supposed to be pronounced "co-pee-dent".

HOWEVER............

In Winnie's book, circa 1975 (I bought mine in 1977), right there at the top of page 120, and sprinkled several times thru the pages, Winnie spelled the word as "copedAnt".

As for the Wikipedia entry that "copedant is an erroneous and unfortunate alternate spelling"... from now on, in Winnie's honor, I'm gonna spell "musical arrangemant" with an "A", and if anyone asks I'll tell 'em why Smile
Bobby Lee

Cloverdale, California, USA
Post  Posted 12 Jan 2007 9:43 am    

The Wikipedia entry says
Quote:
It is short for "ChOrd PEDal arrangemENT".