| Visit Our Catalog at SteelGuitarShopper.com |

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  I love Antiques & challenging Bargains....
Craig McClure

Jasper, N. Georgia, USA
Post  Posted 11 Aug 2024 6:56 pm    

I liked the Idea of Aluminum Lap steels, ever since becoming aware of them & had a chance to buy this one from a scrap dealer. It is/WAS a 1930'S VEGA I don't Know the model or year. This looks like a fascinating project. I studied all the photos of & it looks to be sound & rebuild-able.

In studying pictures of originals The 2 Pickups were tall split rail types, that I've not seen offered anywhere. I appreciate some knowledgeable suggestions, as I have some ideas about making a thin sheet metal, inverted U shaped cap for a modern single rail pickup. Unless a better idea comes along. I don't want to alter the original cast body in any way - so need to work around with what is there.

I'm hoping I can find a ready made fret board similar to what was original, & tuners that match existing holes.Mine had 2 knobs & split palm rests.

I realize I'm biting off a big bunch to chew - but in addition to enjoying the work - I'm affording to have something I couldn't afford - a bit at a time. Love more info. I couldn't post the sellers picture - But I have a stripped body coming - exactly same type/model as original pix. Thanks up dront, Craig
see pix of original survivors + My Bare casting that just arrived today.

[url]
[/url]

Last edited by Craig McClure on 14 Aug 2024 5:47 pm; edited 1 time in total
Brad Bechtel

San Francisco, CA
Post  Posted 12 Aug 2024 5:48 am    

I wish you luck with your project. Please keep us updated!
David Matzenik

Cairns, on the Coral Sea
Post  Posted 12 Aug 2024 12:49 pm    

Nice find. I am sure you will get knowledgeable suggestions on the PU here. A custom fretboard would be no big deal. Very Happy

Tucson Arizona, USA
Post  Posted 12 Aug 2024 5:03 pm     ideas

try nick fryer to discuss your pickup questions.
try jim palenscar for fretboards.