| Visit Our Catalog at SteelGuitarShopper.com |

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Older beginners
Dennis Belt

California, USA
Post  Posted 11 Jul 2024 7:52 am    

I’m a new member here, but I’ve long been a PS fan. I am thinking about taking the plunge and getting a PS. I’m a decent simi-pro guitarist, so I have some understanding of music and theory. I’m interested in hearing from other older guys (I’m late ‘60’s) who have taken up the steel later in life.
What’s your experience been?
Gil James

Louisiana, USA
Post  Posted 11 Jul 2024 8:42 am    

Hi Dennis, I started in on steel at 62 yrs, playing regular guitars for 50. I thought, if has frets,how hard could this be? Well,wouldn't be the first time I was wrong. 4 years in and I'm humbled every time I sit behind one. But, I'm having a ball learning something new everyday. There's plenty of learning material available. It has sharpened my mind and reflexes beyond anything I could have imagined. I am playing a few songs out with my Gospel group, and at Church now. If you love that sound,like I have all my life, just dive right in! You'll get a ton of useful information here on the Forum. Your guitar background will help you, musically. Go for it!
Mark Peters

California, USA
Post  Posted 11 Jul 2024 12:52 pm    

I took it up in my early 50's, after playing Telecaster forever. I told the fellow who was giving me lessons (some guy named b0b) that I had saved it for my old age. He said "That was a mistake." I asked why and he said "You won't live long enough to be any good."

And while I haven't proven him wrong in twelve years, I wouldn't have traded the experience for anything.

As b0b also told me, "You have to understand that you're going to suck for a while."

Go for it.

Mark
Dennis Belt

California, USA
Post  Posted 11 Jul 2024 1:58 pm    

Gil and Mark, thanks for your replies. You’re excellent enablers! I think if I don’t do it, it be sorry later.
Chris Brooks

Providence, Rhode Island