| Visit Our Catalog at SteelGuitarShopper.com |

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  I Bought A Marlen D10 -
David Jeziorski

Illinois, USA
Post  Posted 28 Jun 2024 6:11 pm    

Since I am new to pedal steel – and I mean really new. My first. I could certainly use some advice and help from the forum.

1. Is there a 'factory' copedent? I'm working thru the E9 setup using the info from Bob Lee at b0b.com. His notes can be found here: https://b0b.com/wp/wp-content/uploads/2019/04/Marlen-Pull-Release.pdf. Not even thinking about C6 yet

2. Based on my testing, this is what my copedent looks like (attached). I will have to update his specifics to match.

3. Need some advice adjusting the nylon tuning nuts. Some of the nylon tuning nuts are painted/colored red. What does that mean? Which do I turn? That is just on the E9 neck. The C6 are all white.

4. Couple of screws for the C6 pickup are loose and it doesn't seem to be attached at all. It works just fine so haven't messed with it yet. The first task is to get this guitar tuned - E9.

5. Note the switches in the pictures. They work in some combination to be determined. As long as I get sound out of it tho I am a happy guy.

6. The right knee levers are loose and kind of flop around. Is that normal? Can they be tightened up in some way?

7. In Bob Lee's info he says to use .022 wound for the sixth string. The .020 plain that usually comes w/the E9 string set won't work. What has anyone else experienced?

Seems the list got pretty long. My apologies. Just wanna get this thing tuned so I can start playing and learning. I will try to attach pictures.
DaveJ

[/b]
Tim Toberer

Nebraska, USA
Post  Posted 29 Jun 2024 3:51 am    

I would be interested to see what is going on underneath that old beauty. I used bOb's tuning directions on my homemade pull-release and it worked perfectly once I got everything under the guitar adjusted correctly. Congratulations!
David Jeziorski

Illinois, USA
Post  Posted 29 Jun 2024 6:19 pm