| Visit Our Catalog at SteelGuitarShopper.com |

Goto page 1, 2  Next
Reply to topic
Author Topic:  First Pedal Steel (Sho Bud?)
Shea Stevenson

Alabama, USA
Post  Posted 28 Jun 2024 1:24 pm    

Hello,
Hope the day finds you all well! I’ve been playing guitar for 25ish years and lap steel for a few months now with the eventual goal of moving to pedal steel or at least attempting to. I’ve become completely obsessed with steel and don’t really even play regular guitar anymore… Was in open E for the first 2-3 weeks but then moved on to C6 and haven’t looked back. Figured out some basic lines for stuff like Boot Heel Drag, or Panhandle Rag, in addition to a whole grip of Hawaiian songs, wrote a bit, and even have transcribed some jazz and classical. Having said all that I’m really wanting to make the leap and start the process of getting a steel now at the start of farming season so I can have one here by the time I’m done. I’ve found a Maverick Sho Bud for $999 in tune supposedly but it only has 3 pedals and NO knee levers. How is it to have someone add those? Is it even reasonable? What would you do if you were starting out now? I found a cool looking double neck Sho Bud in Muscle Shoals that I can make payments on…. It’s more than I initially hoped to spend but the proximity and payment options make it attractive. For guitars I typically don’t like super hot pickups and I’m completely new to this but it seems lots are wound to extremely high specs…. There’s going to be a ton to relearn I know because there may be some reason I don’t understand for this but in addition to the history those lower winds seem positive to me. Again I’m clueless…