| Visit Our Catalog at SteelGuitarShopper.com |

Goto page 1, 2  Next
Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Advice on an MSA Universal XL
Michael Mowry

California, USA
Post  Posted 11 Jun 2024 7:54 pm    

Hey y'all,

I'm relatively new to the larger world of pedal steels. I have been playing a student model for a few months, and have been having a great time of it. Recently I've been wanting to upgrade to a more serious guitar, and a universal feels like the logical choice to grow into. I found one recently that fits the brief for what I am looking for. Mostly. I have heard nothing but great things about MSA, but this one seems to have been neglected for some time. While I am not that phased by the cosmetic implications, I fear that the amount of grime it has accumulated (and the lack of care that implies) may impact its mechanical acuity. Also, the seller does not appear to be very knowledgeable about PSGs, which doesn't inspire much confidence.

https://reverb.com/item/82912014-msa-xl-the-universal-s12-supersustain-ii-pedal-steel

Do y'all think I am overreacting, or do you think this has the potential to be more trouble than it's worth? Thank you in advance for your time and insight.
Bobby D. Jones

West Virginia, USA
Post  Posted 11 Jun 2024 9:45 pm    

No, You are not over reacting.
A 50 year old guitar may need some serious Tender Loving Care. To play properly.
Per Berner

Skövde, Sweden
Post  Posted 11 Jun 2024 9:48 pm    

Looks quite good for its age, but a bit pricey for what it is... For that kind of money, you should be able to get a modern equivalent single neck guitar.
Ken Byng

Southampton, England
Post  Posted 12 Jun 2024 1:17 am