| Visit Our Catalog at SteelGuitarShopper.com |

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Overdrive/Gain Pedals for PSG
Tyler Friedman

Grapevine, Texas, USA
Post  Posted 2 Jun 2024 2:48 pm    

Hi Everyone, long time viewer and recent member here. I've been playing PSG for a few years now and have begun to add some effects into my rig. One of the effects I've had a hard time dialing in or "Finding the right one" is an overdrive or other type of gain box. I've tried a Nobles and a tube screamer overdrive (Not together), an old bosstone fuzz and I am currently using a Paul Cochran Timmy V2. The Timmy is close to the sound in my head but I am curious to see what everyone else thinks about all the different options we have for gain.
John Larson

Pennsyltucky, USA
Post  Posted 2 Jun 2024 3:52 pm    

Zendrive, or a clone of it. I use the Aion Azimuth.

I've never used one but a lot of people swear by the Sarno Earth Drive.
Rejoice in the Lord, O ye righteous; praise is meet for the upright. Give praise to the Lord with the harp, chant unto Him with the ten-stringed psaltery. Sing unto Him a new song, chant well unto Him with jubilation. For the word of the Lord is true, and all His works are in faithfulness. The Lord loveth mercy and judgement; the earth is full of the mercy of the Lord.
- Psalm 33:1-5
Steve Hinson

Hendersonville Tn USA
Post  Posted 2 Jun 2024 4:16 pm    

OCD
Mark Perrodin

Tucson Arizona, USA
Post  Posted 2 Jun 2024 5:09 pm     od

i really like and own both the mythos olympus and the kingtone blues power. they are fantastic smooth sounding overdrives. my board has the kingtone blues power on it right now. either one works incredibly well with steel guitar. there is just a plethora of tone and controllability in either pedal.
good luck in your journey. your ears will tell you.
Dave Grafe

Hudson River Valley NY
Post  Posted 2 Jun 2024 6:09 pm