| Visit Our Catalog at SteelGuitarShopper.com |

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Suggestions on simplified copedent
Carl Mayer

Richmond, Virginia, USA
Post  Posted 13 Dec 2023 8:05 am    

Hello, Im not sure if this should be in the general forum or the builders corner so please let me know if Im in the wrong spot. I was hoping to get some feedback on a custom copedent I was thinking of implementing. I have a homemade S10 with the regular E9 copedent (that Im not very good at) but wanted to come up with something simpler I could build into a lightweight pedal steel or even a lapsteel w/ flexible cables. Below is what I came up with:(edited per Fred's correction)

So 8 strings with 3 pedals and 1 toggle change I can either leave on or off. It only has 1 raise per string and no lowers so the changer mechanism could be dirt simple (like a palm bender). A and B pedals have similar changes to the standard E9 so I think a lot of the regular licks would translate. With the toggle change engaged I can get pretty much all the triads based off E major and most of the extended 7th chords without moving the bar. With the toggle change disengaged strings 8-3 are the same as a standard 6 string Dobro, so I could play that style as well.

All seems good on paper but I wanted some feedback from more experienced folks to see if there's anything that stands out as awkward or missing.

Last edited by Carl Mayer on 13 Dec 2023 3:12 pm; edited 4 times in total
Fred Treece

California, USA
Post  Posted 13 Dec 2023 9:42 am    

That looks better, Carl 😎

Set up ABC pedals like a normal E9. Then, if you don’t want the complication of lowers on your changer, at least think about adding an E>F lever. This way, a lot of standard E9 learning materials would still apply to your guitar. I don’t think the toggle for G#>A on string 7 is a good idea. You can imply a 4-note Amaj7 with a C#m triad.