| Visit Our Catalog at SteelGuitarShopper.com |

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Tube Preamps into DAW or FOH?
Justin Shaw

Ontario, Canada
Post  Posted 10 Nov 2023 9:44 pm    

I'm thinking of getting a tube preamp. Does anyone have experience running these straight into your DAW or the front of house? I guess you'd need some type of cab simulator too, right? I'm new to preamps I'm not sure how it all works.
Dan Kelly

Boston, MA
Post  Posted 11 Nov 2023 3:28 am    

Hi Justin,

Yes. I ran my Sarno Revelation tube preamp into Presonus Studio 68c into Studio One DAW to record my album. You can hear how it sounds at:

https://dankelly1.hearnow.com

https://tinyurl.com/Apple-steel-cut-country

https://tinyurl.com/Spotify-steel-cut-country

https://tinyurl.com/amazon-steel-cut-country

https://tinyurl.com/pandora-steel-cut-country

https://tinyurl.com/deezer-steel-cut-country

There are plenty of plug-ins for Studio One or really, any DAW, to modify the sound in terms of amps, cabs, delay, verb... whatever after the track is recorded. However, I used an Empress EcoSystem pedal for delay and reverb on the way into the DAW from the effects loop on the Rev. There is lots of ways to cut a track in a DAW just going direct from the Preamp into the DAW.

Many people feel that capturing the Steel by using a microphone is the "only" way to go, but, personally, I have had more of a challenge getting a sound I liked with that approach. Also, it never fails that when I have a good take going, I get the "HONEY! There is a phone call for you" or a loud Harley rolls by to get on the track. Smile

That being said, I have been learning about "re-amping" and that may have possibilities.
Justin Shaw

Ontario, Canada
Post  Posted 11 Nov 2023 8:09 am    

Hey Dan, sounds good!

So for DAW, it would go:

preamp -> interface -> DAW with Cab Sim / IR plugins

How would it go for Front of House? I guess preamp into something like Torpedo X into the mixing board?
Earnest Bovine