| Visit Our Catalog at SteelGuitarShopper.com |

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Advice for First PSG
Andrew Lodge

Wisconsin, USA
Post  Posted 10 Nov 2023 8:17 pm    

Beginner here looking to buy my first pedal steel… My first foray was the lap steel with palm benders thing which delivered some immediate gratification, but also immediately apparent limitations.

So my question is what are the minimum number of pedals and levers necessary to achieve the classic licks/chords/moves heard on 60s-70s recordings? I’d like to spend under 2k, but don’t want to be saddled with a guitar that I will quickly outgrow.

The best option in my budget seems to be a GFI S-10 3x4, but I am ignorant of any limitations beyond the pedal/lever count on the student models.

Any guidance would be greatly appreciated.
Stew Crookes

Paris, France
Post  Posted 11 Nov 2023 1:16 am    

3&4 is a great place to start as it will cover basically any learning material you’re going to find and it could be all you ever need (I only added a 5th lever after 20 years and could easily live without it)

My advice would be to try and find a well maintained used pro steel from a reputable seller - I started on a new student model and within a year sold it for half what I paid. I then bought a great condition used EMCI that became my main guitar for 2 decades and I could sell it today for more than I paid for it. With a GOOD used steel, if you decide in a year or two you don’t want to keep playing or realize you just want a different flavor of pro steel you’ll be able sell it for roughly what you paid. But you need to find a knowledgeable and trustworthy seller as a bad used steel can be an expensive nightmare.

I can’t speak to the GFI student model (GFI makes great guitars I’ve just not seen that one) but one of the usual limitations of student models is not being able to change the copedent from the factory setup. This may not be a concern for you when starting out but is something to keep in mind…