| Visit Our Catalog at SteelGuitarShopper.com |

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Guyatone???
Chris Harwood

Kentucky, USA
Post  Posted 7 Sep 2023 11:03 am    

Looking for another non pedal, 8 string...and this is available on the internet. Realize it's kinda an off brand...but looking for something to compliment my National double 8, which is totally not stock, but sounds good, with the 8 string guitar humbuckers I put in it. Just looking for a couple extra necks for different tunings and also wouldn't dismiss a single neck either. I think there are some import 8 strings on the cheap, but not looking to throw money away either. This is just strictly for my home studio.
This Guyatone is about $700, which seems a bit high, but again if it's something I want, a couple extra bucks at this point in my life isn't going to sway things one way or the other.
So...you can tell I'm a newb with these older items but I am comfortable in my guitar abilities gained over 60 years.
At 70 years old, I'm thinking I should just enjoy things while you can and are able.
Should I just get a Stringmaster or a Gibson...or would this fit the bill?
Again...I dont want a pedal steel...but my non pedals don't approach the sound of the pedal guitars. Currently I have an Oahu Diana, a Supro Comet, both 6 strings, and the National. If it's technique I'm lacking for tone, I understand, but I go direct into my computer thru various interfaces and also have a Line6 Helix and all the plugins anyone would ever need, in my computer.
Noah Miller

Rocky Hill, CT
Post  Posted 7 Sep 2023 12:43 pm    

Quote:
but my non pedals don't approach the sound of the pedal guitars

Are you going for the tone of a modern pedal steel? If so, neither the Guyatone, nor any vintage Fender or Gibson console is going to get you there. You'd really want a modern instrument with a high-output pickup for that.