| Visit Our Catalog at SteelGuitarShopper.com |

Goto page 1, 2  Next
Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Tone Struggles
Jake Bopp

Tallahassee, FL
Post  Posted 4 Sep 2023 6:19 am    

Ever since I started playing, I have never been happy with my tone. I've gone through countless amps, effects, setups, etc. Ive had others play this guitar, and tell me it sounds kind of thin even on their rigs. Well, last night I was in the studio practicing, and I mentioned it to the engineer, and he showed me the spectrum analyzer for my channel... NOTHING below the low-mids. This was my DI signal. The picture is the best I've got for a pic of the pickup, currently. Should I be after a humbucker, or just something different? I believe my CMI originally came with a George L's. Should I go back with that? I've got other issues as well, but from guitar-to-board this seems to be the biggest one. Second, the pot in my Goodrich has gone south, since I could hear it crackling on the DI. Goodrich doesn't seem to have them for sale on their site, Where could I track something down like that? They're seemingly out of stock everywhere I've looked upon a cursory google search...

Ken Metcalf

San Antonio Texas USA
Post  Posted 4 Sep 2023 7:02 am    

Have you tried a Sarno Black Box?
Fred Treece

California, USA
Post  Posted 4 Sep 2023 7:11 am    

Looks like a TrueTone pickup, which should be fine. Check the pickup height from the strings. It could also be out of level, favoring the treble side. Wiring might be bad. The coil winding could be broken somewhere, or it could be a poorly wound knock-off of a TrueTone, in which case swapping it with your GeorgeL should make a notable difference.

How does it sound when you leave the volume pedal out of the signal path and plug straight into the amp?

Looks like a pretty nice studio 😮🤘
Jake Bopp

Tallahassee, FL
Post  Posted 4 Sep 2023 8:24 am