| Visit Our Catalog at SteelGuitarShopper.com |

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  string theory: keyless vs post wraps
Bill McCloskey

Post  Posted 24 Feb 2023 11:14 am    

Here is a topic I don't remember being discussed:

I'm no expert but I've always seen string changing experts talk about the importance of having a number of "wraps" around the tuning peg. My understanding to increase string longevity and decrease string breakage.

With a keyless system though, there are no wraps around the post. You cynch it tight and screw it down.

How does this jive with the purpose of the wrapping the string around the post 3 or 4 times? Any theories?
Jack Stoner

Kansas City, MO
Post  Posted 24 Feb 2023 11:58 am    

There are lots of theories on string installation and how and number of wraps. I don't think there are any proven "laws".
Carl Williams

Oklahoma
Post  Posted 24 Feb 2023 1:59 pm    

Bill,
Just an FYI but I just installed “locking” Grover Tuners on my Gretsch….I don’t hear a bit of difference in the old standard tuners with 2-3 wraps on the pegs vs maybe one wrap on the locking tuners….I know you’re talking steel but IMO, a tuning peg is a tuning peg…. You have a very good question and point about Keyless guitars…👍
Jack Stoner

Kansas City, MO
Post  Posted 24 Feb 2023 2:51 pm    

Carl Williams wrote:
Bill,
Just an FYI but I just installed “locking” Grover Tuners on my Gretsch….I don’t hear a bit of difference in the old standard tuners with 2-3 wraps on the pegs vs maybe one wrap on the locking tuners….I know you’re talking steel but IMO, a tuning peg is a tuning peg…. You have a very good question and point about Keyless guitars…👍

Good point, as long as the string is wrapped or secured so the string doesn't slip with standard or locking tuners or a "Keyless" steel that is all that matters.

Once new strings settle in my keyless GFI holds tune as good as the keyed Franklin I had.
Donny Hinson

Glen Burnie, Md. U.S.A.
Post  Posted 24 Feb 2023 6:42 pm