| Visit Our Catalog at SteelGuitarShopper.com |

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  New steel player. Different tunings/different strings c6 vs
Korey White

New York, USA
Post  Posted 6 Jan 2023 8:17 pm    

Hello all from upstate NY!

I am new to the forum here and have recently begun to play lap steel (which I love). I had a couple questions if anyone could help me out I would be grateful. I recently purchased a gretsch 5700 to learn steel on in hopes of someday getting a pedal. As a newbie, I had questions about the guitar strings I should use. I have no idea what kind came on mine but I have noticed going to c6 is not ideal with the strings I have. The b string is rather loose when tuned to c6 and sounds pretty crappy in my opinion. I have enjoyed playing open d with the strings but I also ordered a set of GHS c6 strings. My question is how important is it to have say c6 strings compared to the factory ones? Am I wrong thinking the factory ones sound not so great when trying to play c6? Also if I use a set of c6 strings would I run into the problem I already have trying to play in open d? From the sounds of it, I will really enjoy c6 and will most likely use that the majority of the time. So again, how important are strings made for a certain tuning? Any advice is much appreciated, I'm here to learn and be apart of this awesome group. Thanks in advance for your help.

Korey
Jeff Highland

New South Wales, Australia
Post  Posted 6 Jan 2023 8:30 pm    

C6 and open D are quite incompatable when it comes to strings because they span different intervals from low to high. Open D spans a full two octaves from low to high whereas C6 is only an octave and 4 semitones.
The low string D in open D is nearly a full octave below the low C in C6

Yes you need to match the strings to the tuning.
2008 Highland Baritone Weissenborn
2020 Highland New Yorker.
2020 Highland Mohan Veena
2021 Highland Weissencone

Last edited by Jeff Highland on 6 Jan 2023 8:31 pm; edited 1 time in total