| Visit Our Catalog at SteelGuitarShopper.com |

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Tuning the RKL 6th String Lower
Tom Watterson

Texas, USA
Post  Posted 29 May 2022 9:43 pm    

Beginner here, with what I hope is a simple question:

I have a 10-string 3 & 5 E9 Emmons set-up, with the RKL lowering 6 to F# and raising 1 to G#. The RKL raises the 1st string perfectly, but on string 6, the lowered F# is very sharp. Turning the hex tuner doesn't seem to have much of an effect. The string is plain, not wound.

What's the best way to approach this? Thank you!
Dave Meis

Olympic Peninsula, Washington, USA
Post  Posted 29 May 2022 11:14 pm    

If you have split screws in the changer housing, be sure the screw is backed out...
Duane Dunard

Troy, MO. U.S.A.
Post  Posted 30 May 2022 10:29 am    

Tom, If what Dave posted doesn’t work, check to see if your guitar has a 6th string raise helper spring. If so, it could need to be readjusted to less tension, or simply remove it. I suspect that installing a heavier string created this problem.
Richard Sinkler

aka: Rusty Strings -- Missoula, Montana
Post  Posted 30 May 2022 12:11 pm    

Back the nylon nut out until it doesn't contact the finger when pedals or levers are pressed. Loosen the raise on the 6th string too. You may be overtuned ( see post up toward the top of this section). If the finger is being pressed by a nylon nut, the open string tuning is affected and there may not be enough travel left to get the lower (or raise) in tune.
Carter D10 8p/8k, Dekley S10 3p/4k C6 setup,Regal RD40 Dobro, Recording King Professional Dobro, NV400, NV112,Ibanez Gio guitar, Epiphone SG Special (open D slide guitar) . Playing for 54 years and still counting.
Michael Hill

Arizona, USA
Post  Posted 30 May 2022 12:36 pm    

Did you change that string recently? Moving to a different string gauge can result in a changer not having enough travel to accomplish the change.
Tom Watterson

Texas, USA
Post  Posted 30 May 2022 2:21 pm