| Visit Our Catalog at SteelGuitarShopper.com |

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Transitioning From Fender 800 Pedal Steel Recommendation
Eric Duarte

Santa Cruz, California
Post  Posted 31 Mar 2022 1:00 pm    

Hi Everyone,

I'm a beginner and asking this for enlightenment, so apologies if I'm missing something. I have a Fender 800 I'm learning on, but it does not have knee levers and might be a bit of a fixer-upper. I'm looking for advice on what to buy next?

To my knowledge the closes store is Steel Guitars of North County which is a 14-hour round trip for me. California is a big state! I'm also going to be up in Seattle this summer and there's a shop there. I'm willing to make the trip or give them a call, but wanted to ask around here for what folks would recommend.

I have 3 questions to start:

1. Buy New or Used?
2. Go student model with 3 pedals and 4 KLs or buy higher-end than a student model?
3. Should I place an order for a show pro or something of that caliber and be set for a while? Maybe set for life!

Some of the steel players I love are playing an Emmons, so that's a sound I like. I am thinking about a GFI student model at the moment.. I also saw such a great array at the recent Nor Cal Steelers jam and my mind is spinning Smile

Any advice appreciated. Thanks!

Arizona, USA
Post  Posted 31 Mar 2022 3:43 pm    

Hi Eric. Sounds like ,to an extent, money's not the issue. My opinion is go 3 peds and 5 levers. Don't go student. Go with an all pull guitar. With 3 raises and 2 or 3 lowers built into the changer. You'll want split screws in the changer. I'd go S/D. The wider stance gives you more stability and a wrist support. Make sure to kind of match your size. You can't lower a standard size guitar as easy as it is to raise one. Expect to pay $2.2kand up. Going to Jim's store is a good idea. I'm sure you will get many suggestions. Good luck. Have fun. RP

Glen Burnie, Md. U.S.A.
Post  Posted 31 Mar 2022 3:51 pm