| Visit Our Catalog at SteelGuitarShopper.com |

Goto page 1, 2  Next
Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Finger pick issue
Mark Johnson

Illinois, USA
Post  Posted 6 Jan 2022 4:10 pm    

I’m a newbie to psg and am having a problem with finger picks. I’ve tried most styles of brass and steel Propicks. No matter what I do after a few minutes they become loose to where I can’t grip accurately or fall off.
Any suggestions?
Ian Rae

Redditch, England
Post  Posted 6 Jan 2022 4:26 pm    

The secret is a close (not necessarily tight) fit and your round-nosed pliers are your friend. Patience comes in handy too, as getting the right shape takes a lot of trial and error.

Make sure that the blades are bent right over the end of your finger, and that your fingers are bent back towards you. That way the picking action pushes the picks on to your finger, not off it.

See if you can find a copy of Jeff Newman's "Right Hand Alpha".
Bill Miller

Gaspe, Quebec, Canada
Post  Posted 6 Jan 2022 6:20 pm    

Not the least expensive solution but get yourself a pair of Landis Death Grip picks. They stay on better than anything else I've tried in over 30 years.To me they're worth the money.
Erv Niehaus

Litchfield, MN, USA
Post  Posted 7 Jan 2022 8:13 am    

Lick the ends of your fingers before you put your picks on, that will help them stay on. Very Happy
Erv
Larry Ball

Airdrie, Alberta, Canada
Post  Posted 7 Jan 2022 8:24 am    

Erv is right “Lick and Stick”

Portland, OR USA
Post  Posted 7 Jan 2022 8:46 am    

I now use the Gorilla brand "Double Sided Mounting Tape" to keep my picks on real good (it has a red backing that peels off). It is a gel tape that has some cushioning to it.
I cut a piece a little smaller than my finger nail, and put the pick on. The tape then stays on the pick for a long time and works real good for a long time.
I used to use Mounting Putty, but it is a lil messy.
David LeBlanc

New Brunswick, Canada
Post  Posted 7 Jan 2022 9:21 am