| Visit Our Catalog at SteelGuitarShopper.com |

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Suggestions for improving picking technique
Scott Hiestand

MA, U.S.A
Post  Posted 20 Jan 2021 6:16 am    

After about a 5 year hiatus, I'm back into playing steel. I started in 1998 or so. One thing I've always struggled with is playing fast licks cleanly. To this day I'll still miss strings or just graze them, even practicing a lick or run over and over. I'm a musician from way back and I know all about playing something cleanly slowly and then starting to up the tempo, regardless of instrument. But I feel like I should be better considering all the years I've put in. Granted, my focus has always been more on sweet and melodic playing and less on speed, but now that I'm retired I'd like to simply inmprove now that I have the time.

Any suggestion or tips for this would be appreciated (I realize there are no "short-cuts")....
Dale Rivard

Ontario, Canada
Post  Posted 20 Jan 2021 9:39 am