| Visit Our Catalog at SteelGuitarShopper.com |

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Harlin versus newer pedal guitars
Felix Wolfe

Corvallis,oregon, USA
Post  Posted 31 Dec 2020 8:47 am    

There is an old Harlin pedal guitar in a music store in town, and I am toying with the idea of buying and learning to play it.

I have searched this site looking for information on the old Harlin pedal guitars, and I found a LOT. But I still have one question -what is the main difference between Harlins and newer pedal steels ?

Here is my confusion. The old Harlin guitars were nicknamed "chord changers." But when you press a pedal on more modern pedal guitar, are you not also changing the open chord to something else ?

Thanks in advance for your answers, but I play by ear and know only basic music theory, so I hope the answer isn't too complicated Smile
Andrew Goulet

Post  Posted 31 Dec 2020 9:26 am    

I'm not an expert, but the Harlans, as far as I know, were the early predecessor to the modern pedal steel. The way the pedals are arranged and the mechanisms are different than "modern" pedal steels from Bigsby and Fender on. It seems unlikely that you'd be able to apply most common techniques to that instrument (certain pedal combinations, changing what the pedals do, etc...) Technically a modern pedal steel is also, at it's most basic, a chord- or tuning-changing device, but modern pedal steels also use the pedals in much more sophisticated way that may be difficult or impossible on a Harlan. Also, repairing it or getting parts could be very difficult or impossible.

Like I said, I'm not an expert. All that being said, you don't have to play a steel in any particular way, and a Harlan could be really cool, have a good tone, and give you what your looking for in terms of tuning flexibility. Just don't expect it to do everything a modern pedal steel can. Smile

Greeneville, TN, USA
Post  Posted 31 Dec 2020 11:02 am    

I would strongly advise you not to do it.
Roy McKinney