| Visit Our Catalog at SteelGuitarShopper.com |

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  My first build, help or advice on control cavity
JB Bobbitt

California, USA
Post  Posted 19 Nov 2020 3:23 pm    

Hello all;

I'm about to rout the control cavity on my Duesenberg clone. It's my first build, and I don't have much experience playing a lap steel, so I'd like some advice on the placement and layout of the controls and control cavity and cable jack, and placement of the knobs on the top side.

It's a simple build: single Lollar String-Through PUP (top mount), volume and tone pots, capacitor, jack. I'd be happy to go with the Duesenberg layout, or close to it.

The questions: Is there an optimum size and shape for the control cavity? Should it be oversized compared to the minimum space necessary to fit? Any thoughts on clearance of the control knobs with respect to the PUP or strings? Anything else I need to know?

I'm an accomplished woodworker, I'll fashion a shop-built template for the rout.

Any advice appreciated. If somebody could post a pic of the back of your Duesenberg or other guitar, that'd be cool too (cover plate on would be easiest).

Again, thanks a heap.
-jbb

(Note: the bridge is a work in progress, not cut to size yet)

[/img][img][/img]
Bill Groner

QUAKERTOWN, PA
Post  Posted 19 Nov 2020 4:49 pm    

If it was me, since you have that nice little niche on the butt end, I would mount the jack there. I would move the Volume and Tone knobs down a bit and don't forget to have a ground wire to the strings. I make the hole for the pots 1" diameter and you can rout a slot to connect them if you like. It's easy to make a cover for the slot to finish it off like the pictures.

7/8" diameter for the jack. I counterbore from the back side leaving about 1/8" of wood on the top side for the pot posts to come through and catch the lock nut.

The Land of Enchantment New Mexico
Post  Posted 20 Nov 2020 7:49 am     Control pocket

Hello from GeorgeBoards