| Visit Our Catalog at SteelGuitarShopper.com |

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Tuning Question
Doug Taylor

Shelbyville, Kentucky, USA
Post  Posted 1 May 2020 2:17 pm    

I have very little experience with lap steel but was wondering why no one seems to tune to the bottom 8 strings of the pedal steel E9? As a 1 year pedal steel student what is the best tuning for my 8 string Melbert? It is in C6 now.
Allan Revich

Victoria, BC
Post  Posted 1 May 2020 11:31 pm    

One of the nicest things about the lap steel guitar is that there really is no “best tuning” for it. There are many common tunings and a multitude of less common tunings. To avoid completely ducking your question, I’ll offer this nugget (for what it’s worth).

If you plan to take lessons and/or use published learning materials, it would probably be wisest to select a very common tuning like C6.
If you prefer to learn through experimenting, jamming, and trial & error, or want to transfer quickly from another instrument, then pick any tuning you like—even one you come up with on your own. Learn it. Practice it. Use it. Love it. Don’t worry about what other players use.

https://papadafoe.com/lap-steel-tuning-database
Gene Tani

Pac NW
Post  Posted 2 May 2020 1:39 pm    

https://bb.steelguitarforum.com/viewtopic.php?t=319881

https://bb.steelguitarforum.com/viewtopic.php?t=321335

I think the first thread convinced me to try e13 but never got around to buying the right gauge strings
Doug Taylor

Shelbyville, Kentucky, USA
Post  Posted 2 May 2020 3:58 pm    

Thanks for the replies, I am not trying to reinvent the wheel, just not understanding all of the tunings very well. Reading the threads posted above has gone a long way to help.

Thanks so much
Jim Sliff

Lawndale California, USA
Post  Posted 3 May 2020 10:51 am    

Most of those tunings were developed by players who WERE trying to reinvent the wheel!

They were looking for a different sound, or a specific playing style.