| Visit Our Catalog at SteelGuitarShopper.com |

Goto page 1, 2  Next
Reply to topic

Can C6 Lap Steel work for country music?
Yes!
82%
 82%  [ 34 ]
No. Find a pedal steel player, man.
9%
 9%  [ 4 ]
Maybe, but ___________
7%
 7%  [ 3 ]
Total Votes : 41

Author Topic:  Can C6 Lap Steel work for country music?
Rob Morrison

New York, USA
Post  Posted 15 Nov 2019 10:58 am    

Hi all,

I'm primarily a guitarist and mandolin player. I bought a Magnatone lap steel guitar a few years ago when I became obsessed with Hawaiian and Hawaiian-influenced music. I still love that style, but I never quite put in the level of music theory work on the instrument as I have with something like standard-tuning guitar, so my lap steel has "lapsed" a bit if you will. I play various electric guitars and a roundneck resonator in open tunings with a slide, so there are certain aspects of steel technique that I have an overlap with (others, not so much).

At any rate, a friend offered me a gig opportunity with a country band, and the idea was floated of me sitting in with them for a couple tunes on lap steel. It's a pretty casual affair, but I'd still like to make a good impression. So I'm wondering -- if I work hard -- if it's possible for me to cop some (basic) pedal steel country sounds out of my lap steel.

Does this seem doable, to a degree at least? Or am I kidding myself and should just take the plunge on a console/pedal steel and give up all social engagements for the next...decade or so?

I'm certainly not opposed to pursuing pedal steel at some point, but there's no chance of me buying and developing any sort of usable skills in time for a gig in a few months. So in the meantime, with a volume pedal, a lot of listening to recordings, and a serious study of where to find choice doublestops, could a lap steel get me something at least adjacent to a country sound? Any insight would be most appreciated!
Travis Wilson

Johnson City, TX
Post  Posted 15 Nov 2019 1:29 pm