| Visit Our Catalog at SteelGuitarShopper.com |

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  What to buy
Sean Downing

Lansdale, Pennsylvania, USA
Post  Posted 2 Jun 2019 4:10 am    

Ok so I’m very torn. Currently I’m playing out of a little POS line 6 combo amp so anything is an upgrade but I’d like to do it right, and I very much trust the opinion of the people in this forum. I spent the money on a beautiful Mullen royal precision so I’d like to do it justice with the correct amp. I’ve heard people talk about how the 15” speaker seems to only be necessary for C6 tuning and I will only be playing E9, just in case that affects your decision.

Option A
Milkman “the amp”
Cab is tbd and I was wondering what you guys would pair that with given the chance.

Option B
Buy a used combo amp such as Nashville 400/fender steel king

Bonus question. Lol
Would the price tag on something like the peavey 115 be better than the milkman/cab combo.

Total newbie here. Thanks so much for your help guys
David Nugent

Gum Spring, Va.
Post  Posted 2 Jun 2019 5:45 am    

From a price point issue, the Peavey 'Nashville' series would be my suggestion. Normally found in the $300.00 to $400.00 range, they are a real bargain. A 12" speaker cab loaded with a Telonics or Eminence speaker designed specifically for pedal steel plus the initial cost of the Milkman 'Amp' will most likely place your total in the $1000.00 plus range. Unless a pre-owned unit becomes available, the new 'Session 115" will add an additional $400.00 to that figure.
George Kimery

Limestone, TN, USA
Post  Posted 2 Jun 2019 8:47 am     What to buy

Used Nashville 112 or new or used Katana. Either one will set you back around $300.00 and both are proven performers for steel guitar.
Brett Lanier

Madison, TN
Post  Posted 2 Jun 2019 10:50 am    

Hi Sean,
What type of musical environment do you see yourself playing steel in?