| Visit Our Catalog at SteelGuitarShopper.com |

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  To Pedal or Not?
Joe Stewart

Way Out West
Post  Posted 23 Dec 2004 10:52 pm    

Aloha and Holiday Greetings to Everyone!

I'm an intermediate-level guitarist, but beginning steel player with a keen interest in both traditional and contemporary Hawaiian Steel. But I'm also fond of the Tex/Mex Western-Swing sound, and I'm trying to learn what I can about the various console instruments in hopes of making the right future purchase, without committing any grave errors or oversights. Along the way, questions of various types have of course surfaced, most of which have been readily answered by knowledgeable others, yet on certain topics, I can't seem to get a straight answer from anyone, no matter how I try. Hence, I'm submitting this post in hopes that someone here in the SGF can help.

Ideally, I'd like to secure a high-end instrument that is capable of playing both styles cleanly (i.e., Hawaiian & Swing), and consequently, many have advised me to look at a new or vintage "non-pedal" D-6/D-8 (e.g., GeorgeBoard or Stringmaster) with the apparent assumption that the two necks could then be tuned to C6 (Hawaiian) and E-9, E-13, or whatever (for western/country types of applications). However, keeping in mind that I'm a relative amateur with a great deal yet to learn, a seemingly logical question then arises as to why avoid "pedal" instruments? In other words, if you're buying a double-necked instrument with the intention of having both options
(Hawaiian & Swing), why not purchase a standard D-8 or D-10 pedal instrument (e.g., Sho-Bud, Fessenden, etc.) that can presumably do the very same thing tonally, while also offering the advantages of pedals.