| Visit Our Catalog at SteelGuitarShopper.com |

Goto page 1, 2  Next
Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Suggestions on how to make it flow.....
Dawn Phillips

Georgia, USA
Post  Posted 12 Sep 2016 5:33 pm    

Hello. I am really new to the pedal steel. I just started in December. I have been practicing a lot. I'm really enjoying learning this instrument. The sound is... *sigh*
So, how does one begin to make it flow. Like... Paul Franklin. He isn't just picking notes. He is like picking lots of strings up and down the neck. He makes a melody out of chords or something. Gosh.. I reallllllly want to do that when I grow up. Very Happy

Any help will be GREATLY appreciated.

Dawn
Larry Dering

Missouri, USA
Post  Posted 12 Sep 2016 6:31 pm    

More seat time and scales. It will all begin to fit together as you work through songs. 1st find the chords then the scales to the chords and then make music out of them. Keep going, it will work. We all started out the same way. Best of luck.
Mark Hershey

New York, USA
Post  Posted 12 Sep 2016 7:00 pm    

Jeff Rady has a few Paul Franklin lessons. You get a tab and in his video he walks you through every lick by calling out the fret, string and pedal.

My .02 learn the chord pockets, learn the scales and when you learn a song from tab or lesson pay attention to what the chords are that the lick is happening over. Slowly but surely it will start to come to you.

Also, use the search function on this forum and you will be amazed at all of the old threads you will pull up with all sorts of great tabs, licks and insight from many great players.
Lane Gray

Topeka, KS
Post  Posted 12 Sep 2016 7:00 pm    

What Larry said. You start out learning where to find the notes and chords;
then you think about how to play what you're thinking and also you think of licks and patterns you know;
then you start singing to yourself and the notes come out of the guitar;