| Visit Our Catalog at SteelGuitarShopper.com |

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  New Stringmaster Owner needs help
Jack Santoro

California, USA
Post  Posted 29 Feb 2016 4:51 pm    

Love reading all the great posts on this forum.

I just received my dual 8 stringmaster Fender. Although I've played strings and keys my whole life I am brand new to the steel.

Could anyone suggest a good starting point such as a DVD or book on the Stringmaster.
Thank you in advance for any assistance. I like Jerry Byrd and Eddie Rivers a lot.

Thanks,
Jack
Greg Moynihan

Bremerton, Washington, USA
Post  Posted 29 Feb 2016 8:07 pm    

I liked the Cindy Cashdollar Western Swing DVDs Vol 1 and Vol 2. This set gave me enough exercises and songs to stay busy for many, many weeks. If you have a grasp of theory and the Nashville number system, her lessons work great, you can jump right in.

http://www.cindycashdollar.com/dvds/
Tom Snook

Ft. Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Post  Posted 1 Mar 2016 5:47 am    

Ditto for Cindy Cashdollar,and you can get Jerry Byrd instruction from Scottys Music.
And have a ball!

Ft. Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Post  Posted 1 Mar 2016 2:22 pm    

Ditto for Cindy Cashdollar,and you can get Jerry Byrd instruction from Scottys Music.
And have a ball!

California, USA
Post  Posted 1 Mar 2016 2:26 pm     Thanks for the quick replies!

Thanks to all that answered my post. That's exactly what I needed. Might someone have an answer to this:
I noticed that the tone control is used to create a wah wah effect on many recordings. Does anyone think using a combo volume and wah wah pedal would make that function easier than using the pinky finger? Does any company make a unit like this?

Thanks again,

Jack
Jeff Mead

London, England
Post  Posted 1 Mar 2016 2:48 pm     Re: Thanks for the quick replies!

Jack Santoro wrote: