| Visit Our Catalog at SteelGuitarShopper.com |

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Unbelieveable tuning stability on my Mullen.
Rich Upright

Florida, USA
Post  Posted 5 Sep 2015 9:44 am    

Back in May I bought a '99 Mullen D-10 HWP. I was totally unfamiliar with Mullen guitars, but it was for sale locally & I was looking for a 2nd backup guitar, and I would never buy a musical instrument unless I played it first, so I am relegated to buying locally. I got the guitar home & it required a bit of tweaking,adjusting,new strings on both necks & lubrication.(Big Thanks to my buddy John Widgren who walked me through a couple adjustments over the phone)
Anyway, I was scheduled for open heart surgery on July 13th, so I set the steel up next to my bed so I could just roll out of bed & practice. Tuned the guitar & all stops a couple days before surgery. Now, I was too weak to play the first couple weeks after I got home from the hospital, but I started playing by the end of July. Here is the unbelieveable part:

It is now September 5th, and I have NOT...repeat...NOT touched a tuning key or hex tuning adjustment since before my surgery, and the guitar is still in perfect tune 2 months later! Even with my central A/C vent blowing right on it,and the fact that I clean my strings vigorously after each practice session (hey; I'm a cheapskate & strings cost money!) all the strings & stops are still perfect (just checked them). I've been lucky to have steels that have great tuning stability, but this Mullen is RIDICULOUS! Even my LeGrande D-10 can't do that. Gotta tune it every couple days or so when practicing at home. And, did I mention that this Mullen has ZERO cabinet drop? Try as I might, I cannot get it to drop pitch, or go out.

AFAIC, you can keep your compensators,counterforce stabilizers, etc. This Mullen has them ALL beat.

Is this unusual, or are all Mullens like this?

Litchfield, MN, USA
Post  Posted 5 Sep 2015 10:06 am    

Yes, it's unusual. Whoa!
Bob Knight