| Visit Our Catalog at SteelGuitarShopper.com |

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Slide Accessories Thoughts
Keith Barron

British Columbia, Canada
Post  Posted 6 Jul 2015 11:37 am    

I am very new to my console steel. I am alone except for these groups, lessons and any good youtube videos I can find. Anxious to get started, I purchased a Dunlop 920 slide, nylon thumb pick and 2 finger picks. I was struggling to keep the finger picks on. I'd pick a string and they would occasionally pull right off. I tightened them more. Tried again. Not much better. Finally I had an epiphany. I had them on incorrectly with the pick up over my finder nail. I had claws like Wolverine. Lol. I got them turned around now, much better.

I find the 920 bar pretty heavy. After a while of using it I did more research to learn that the 918 is maybe a better choice for my 8 string dual pro? Should I stop using the 920 ASAP and get the 918? Is it lighter? I don't want to develop bad habits with the 920 if it's not recommended. Thx.
Doug Clark

Maine, USA
Post  Posted 6 Jul 2015 1:15 pm     Re: Slide Accessories Thoughts

Keith Barron wrote:
I had them on incorrectly with the pick up over my finder nail. I had claws like Wolverine. Lol. I got them turned around now, much better.
It was probably only some photos on a manufacturer's Website that kept me from doing something like that. "You do know that's not how those go on?" "Umm . . . I know now." Embarassed

Quote:
I find the 920 bar pretty heavy. After a while of using it I did more research to learn that the 918 is maybe a better choice for my 8 string dual pro? Should I stop using the 920 ASAP and get the 918? Is it lighter? I don't want to develop bad habits with the 920 if it's not recommended. Thx.
Hmm, I can't find the 918 on Dunlop's site now, except for a mention that "The 918 Professional was Designed specifically for Jerry Byrd, Premier Hawaiian Guitar Player."