| Visit Our Catalog at SteelGuitarShopper.com |

Goto page 1, 2  Next
Reply to topic
Author Topic:  A new steel player with a few questions
Kevin Spafford

Portland, OR
Post  Posted 6 Jun 2014 6:15 pm    

Hi everyone,

I'm looking to get a lap steel in the next few weeks and I have been digging through the many threads on this forum and I've gathered a ton of info. This is a great resource and I have already learned a lot.

Since I am brand new to this instrument, I have been looking for entry level instruments that can at least be upgraded somewhat in the future if I keep going with it.

I have seen the Rondo SX lap steel come up several times as one that can have various components swapped out, and I think that is what I'll be going for most likely. If anyone has other contenders in that same price range (more or less), feel free to bring them to my attention. I am most interested in the ability to build on the foundation of the instrument (new pickups, new bridge, etc).

With the Rondo in mind, I am wondering if anyone can speak about the quality of the pickups. I see one model has a single coil, and one has a P90. Is one of them drastically better than the other? I'm leaning toward the P90 but if the single coil is better, that would be good information.

I'm also wondering if anyone has ever installed a multibender on a Rondo lapsteel. Is there enough space on the body to comfortably do so?

Thanks for fielding my questions! Also, if anyone knows of a lap steel teacher in the Portland area, please let me know. There seems to be a good pedal steel scene here which I'll be checking out soon, but I don't know of anyone who focuses specifically on lap steel. Maybe any pedal steel player can teach lap steel also? I don't know how the crossover works between them.
Michael James

La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA
Post  Posted 6 Jun 2014 8:49 pm    

I have a Recording King RG-32. Retail at $179.99