| Visit Our Catalog at SteelGuitarShopper.com |

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Ben Keith - Deep Forbidden Lake
Slide-OZ

Austin, TX 78751
Post  Posted 20 Oct 2013 5:44 pm    

Hi All. I am a beginner steel player that loves Ben's work with Neil. A friend was planning to play Deep Forbidden lake at a gig and I offered to accompany him on steel. So then I knew I had to learn the part. Here is my attempt at tabbing it. Only problem is that I have read that Ben doesn't use a LKL and I DO use that in my tab. So, this is assuredly wrong. But it's not too bad.

HOWEVER, I would really appreciate it if the more knowledgeable and skilled among you could help me fix any errors here.

Played in the key of F. I think Neil plays the guitar in Drop-Standard. I think I may have tabbed the last line an octave too low.

Thanks.

So how did the gig go? Well, it is supposed to be in Half Moon Bay this Thursday, but I am really nervous about checking my steel on a flight. I have read a lot here about the care people take with packing and I don't think I have planned properly....so I have elected to sit this one out. But at least I wanted to share my work here.
Mark Hershey

New York, USA
Post  Posted 4 Nov 2013 6:25 pm    

Thanks for this, I'll give this a try this weekend. Been super slammed but just wanted to say Ben is one of the reasons I got into the steel. I want to try to learn his work on Dylan's Wallflower as well.
Daniel Policarpo

Post  Posted 6 Nov 2013 3:19 am    

Ben Keith was such a superb player. Not a bad gig he had , either. In his biography, Young talks about how much he appreciated Keith's steel work, how he "loves every sound that man makes". Great example of his work.
Slide-OZ

Austin, TX 78751
Post  Posted 12 Nov 2013 11:25 am