| Visit Our Catalog at SteelGuitarShopper.com |

Goto page 1, 2  Next
Reply to topic
Author Topic:  How do you deal with an 'off' night?
Don R Brown

Rochester, New York, USA
Post  Posted 13 Oct 2013 6:24 pm    

Usually when I sit down to spend time on the steel, I can get myself into things pretty well. However, once in a while I seem to have one of those days where everything seems "off" - I just can't hit the right notes, or I forget where I was headed with something even though I may have played it fine the day before. It seems like my mind and my hands (and feet) are in different time zones.

For me it's no big deal, I'm just a beginner in my own house. But I know even the pros have times where it just does not feel right. Do you just deal with it? Bull your way through the evening? Or do you have some way of mentally giving yourself a kick in the rear and forcing the mind to focus? I'm sure different folks react in different ways but I'd be curious how you handle not being able to get the ball over the plate, to use a baseball metaphor.
Mitch Ellis

Collins, Mississippi USA
Post  Posted 13 Oct 2013 7:23 pm    

IF I'm practicing at home, I simply quit and go do something else. Every time I've tried to force myself to learn something or enjoy something, I didn't get much accomplished. If I'm playing a gig, I play only the licks that I'm very comfortable with. (which narrows my choices waaaay down) Laughing

Mitch
Don R Brown

Rochester, New York, USA
Post  Posted 13 Oct 2013 7:46 pm    

Thanks Mitch.
Jack Stoner

Kansas City, MO
Post  Posted 14 Oct 2013 2:48 am    

When I have an off night on stage, I just go with it. The only problem is when you have an off night someone will tell you that "you really did great tonight" and conversely when you have a great night some will tell you that you "don't sound like yourself".

When I'm having an off time practicing, I just quit and go back to it later.
Alan Tanner

Near Dayton, Ohio