| Visit Our Catalog at SteelGuitarShopper.com |

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  6 string C6/Am7 and/or C6/A7
Scott Hemleben

Louisiana, USA
Post  Posted 28 Aug 2013 6:51 pm    

Curious as to whether you guys stick to one or the other tuning or do both, and your reasons for doing so.

If you do both do you have dedicated steels for each tuning or do you just tune the 6th string back and forth?

If you use one steel for both do you use a tuner or ear tune?

-Thanks
Earnest Bovine

Los Angeles CA USA
Post  Posted 28 Aug 2013 10:10 pm     Re: 6 string C6/Am7 and/or C6/A7

Scott Hemleben wrote:

If you do both do you have dedicated steels for each tuning or do you just tune the 6th string back and forth?

If you use one steel for both do you use a tuner or ear tune?

I'm no expert but my preference is to leave that string (~0.38") at C# most of the time, and sometimes retune to C natural. Sometimes I retune other strings such as high C (~.017") to B for a while. It is quick and easy to do by ear.

Jerry Byrd could re-tune his strings really fast, but he often used both C and C# strings a half step apart anyway.
Loyal McAvoy

California, USA
Post  Posted 28 Aug 2013 11:45 pm     Re: 6 string C6/Am7 and/or C6/A7

I feel that the cycle of fifths (fourths) is so prevalent in music that one needs a well defined dominant chord on the lap steel. They also functions as tri-tone subs (substituting by flatted fifth, for people of my age.) It just makes things much easier in my opinion. That being said, I also think that if a player chooses any tuning, practices, and sticks with it religiously, eventually they will be able to play anything they want to play within the physical limitations of the instrument.

Loyal
Loyal McAvoy

California, USA
Post  Posted 28 Aug 2013 11:46 pm     Re: 6 string C6/Am7 and/or C6/A7