| Visit Our Catalog at SteelGuitarShopper.com |

Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Better feel for the pedals without shoes
Curt Trisko

St. Paul, Minnesota, USA
Post  Posted 15 Aug 2013 4:48 pm    

I'm a beginner and up until recently, I've been playing barefoot or with socks. I'm finding that when I play with shoes, I can't get the nice touch with the pedals that I get without shoes. By that, I mean that when I use the standard left foot technique with shoes, my playing sounds more mechanical and less nuanced than before. When playing barefoot, I have extreme control over the pedals because I can change the shape of my foot and use my individual toes. I know that I have to learn how to play with shoes on, so I'm not advocating for playing barefoot. I want to know that as I practice more with shoes, whether I'll regain that same amount of pedal control that I have now playing barefoot.
Scott Duckworth

Etowah, TN Western Foothills of the Smokies
Post  Posted 15 Aug 2013 5:01 pm    

My feetsees is too tender to play without shoes! Whoa!

I do tend to do better with "real" shoes on, and not my "crocs" shoes.

I may, in fact, be nuts. However, I am screwed onto the right bolt... Jesus!
Lane Gray

Topeka, KS
Post  Posted 15 Aug 2013 6:15 pm    

Hank Ruf plays in stocking feet. I prefer shoes. I believe someone could grow accustomed to the other if they chose to.
I bet that, once you get your proverbial 10,000 hours in, It will matter less and less
William Lake

Ontario, Canada
Post  Posted 15 Aug 2013 7:13 pm    

Try soft soled moccasins. Works for me.

Los Angeles CA
Post  Posted 15 Aug 2013 8:08 pm    

William Lake wrote:
Try soft soled moccasins. Works for me.

Me too.
John Castelletti

Post  Posted 15 Aug 2013 8:35 pm    

hang in there…as a beginner (playing about 2 or so years) everything felt wrong. the slightest change of seat height or tilt....shoes…hand position…anything would throw me way off.