| Visit Our Catalog at SteelGuitarShopper.com |

Goto page 1, 2  Next
Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Semantics 101: Lap steel vs steel guitar
Mike Neer

NJ
Post  Posted 27 Jan 2013 6:13 pm    

I've used the term lap steel guitar ever since I found out what that strange instrument I purchased was called. I'm not sure where I first read it, maybe Guitar Player magazine.

But I was thinking about this today while I was watching a video of someone playing, and it occurred to me that what he was playing was in fact "lap steel guitar". It was very far removed from what I would call steel guitar and the way that I personally approach playing. Let me explain.

When I started playing, I was only able to really comprehend the singing single note style of David Lindley; the styles of everyone else I heard were so different. When I heard Jerry Byrd and Speedy West play, it was like I was listening to a different instrument altogether. I could not conceive of how they did what did, but in the back of my mind I told myself that I wanted to figure it out.

Time has gone on, and I have learned quite a bit about playing. The things that were such a mystery to me before aren't anymore, and the style that had me bewildered is now closer to the way I think when I play the instrument. I can say in all honesty that I play steel guitar now, and I don't mean that as an insult to the lap steel guitarist. I just believe it is a different mindset. The lap steel guitar seems smaller to me in compass.

Feel free to disagree or agree with me.

Wilmington, NC, USA
Post  Posted 27 Jan 2013 7:23 pm    

Yep. Steel guitar.
Bill McCloskey

Post  Posted 27 Jan 2013 7:26 pm    

When your steel no longer fits in your lap, you are playing steel guitar. Smile

Mike, since it is a mindset, are you saying that there are people who play consoles who are lap steel guitarists and others playing a frypan who are Steel guitarists?
Kevin Lichtsinn

Minnesota, USA
Post  Posted 27 Jan 2013 7:30 pm