| Visit Our Catalog at SteelGuitarShopper.com |

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  50's Rickenbacker Triple 8 for sale $1400
Teddy Weber

Vermont, USA
Post  Posted 16 Jul 2012 10:14 am    

I have owned this steel since the fall of 2008. It is an amazing instrument and is fully functional. I have been stalling on selling it for months because I really hate to see it go. But I am a full-time musician and need to unload a few things as.... that's how it goes in this business.

As far as I can tell, this is a 1950's Rickenbacker Console 518 Triple 8 Steel Guitar. There is no serial number that I have found but you can look closely at the photos and dig around online, you'll see matches to the name. Everything is original except the winding on the third pickup (furthest from the player). That pickup suddenly stopped working one day so I had it re-wound and it sounds amazing now, just as good as the others. Also in the photos you'll see that the nuts are not original. I had a machinist make three additional brass nuts because I like to play with a slightly wider string spacing than the originals allowed for. Frankly, these new brass nuts are better, but I still have the originals and will include them in the sale. They pop right in, no tools required. The pots have a little crackle in them, but are fully functional.

Here's a video of me playing something slow and country/jazzy on it. Steel comes in around minute 2:40
http://youtu.be/QPxYy2oNoaY