| Visit Our Catalog at SteelGuitarShopper.com |

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  The pretense of spontaneity is misleading the Newbie
Bo Legg

Post  Posted 4 Sep 2011 1:32 pm    

I think one of the difficulties for a Newbie here on the Steel Guitar Forum is that he doesn't realize that a lot of Steel players don’t let anyone know they studied music and applied that knowledge with hour upon hour of practice to what they borrowed from others.
I don’t know if the pretense of spontaneity is deliberate or the players simply forgot how they got to where they are on the Steel Guitar.
So the Newbie gets the idea from this constant rhetoric that if you’re not born a natural musical genius you have little chance of becoming a good Steel player.
Archie Nicol R.I.P.

Ayrshire, Scotland
Post  Posted 4 Sep 2011 2:11 pm    

'hanks for that, Bo.

Arch.
David Mason

Cambridge, MD, USA
Post  Posted 4 Sep 2011 2:53 pm    

I know a lot of people can get downright insulted by this "Oh! What a gift you have!" kind of nonsense (myself for one). It supposedly takes 10,000 hours of focused practice to get really good at anything. I suspect that number is variable, and it makes a better truism than fact - but, I used to write a column for a local newspaper, and every once in a while I'd get the fever and bang out a killer.

Insert tittering old lady -> "Oh my! What a gift that is! I could never do that... how long does one of those take you?"
"Eight hours...."
Insert -> dead silence.

It's an easy out for lazy people, you either have "the gift" - or you needn't bother trying. There are any number of great musicians, writers & artists who insest that they weren't a natural, and they had to work incredibly hard to get what they have. I suspect "the gift" is more obsessive/compulsive disorder than anything else, and nowadays it's common to medicate that and "perfectionism" right out of people to make them "happy." whee....
Joseph Barcus

Volga West Virginia
Post  Posted 4 Sep 2011 4:33 pm