| Visit Our Catalog at SteelGuitarShopper.com |

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Nashville Op-Amp Change (Mod)
Robert Leaman

Murphy, North Carolina, USA
Post  Posted 14 Dec 2010 12:15 pm    

Originally, Peavey's NV1000 schematics show signal chain op-amps as 4560. Later, these were changed to OPA2604. I have no knowledge when that change was made. The best substitution for either 4560 or 2604 is a Burr-Brown op-amp OPA2134PA. This is an eight pin IC and has two separate identical op-amps (dual). Burr-Brown is owned by Texas Instruments. There are five op-amps on the preamp board and four op-amps on the controller board.

The five op-amps on the preamp board are primary steps in the signal chain. These five are the only necessary substitutions. The four on the controller board are late in the signal chain where the S/N ratio is not as critical as the preamp.

Preamp Board: U1, U2, U3, U4, & U5
Controller Board: U100, U102, U105, & U109

Be aware of the op-amp pin orientation. Incorrect insertion can destroy integrated circuit components.
Dick Sexton

Greenville, Ohio
Post  Posted 14 Dec 2010 12:58 pm     NV Chip Mod!

Great info Bob. Where are you getting your chips?

I figure anyone that can put their socks on without some help, could be successful at putting in these chips. And shouldn't be afraid of doing it, if they want. I do understand the newest NV112s have the chips soldered to the circuit board. But even that is only a mild inconvenience for the determined.

A few pictures I've taken of my own installation...
Unseen in the pics, is the wrist static strap I used.

http://cid-594320d13092d8fb.photos.live.com/browse.aspx/112%20chip%20Install

Last edited by Dick Sexton on 14 Dec 2010 7:27 pm; edited 1 time in total
Robert Leaman

Post  Posted 14 Dec 2010 5:44 pm    

I got my information directly from Peavey. My history includes electrical engineering design, circuit board design, and real time software.