| Visit Our Catalog at SteelGuitarShopper.com |

Goto page 1, 2  Next
Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Right hand position
John Polstra

Lopez Island, WA, USA
Post  Posted 12 Dec 2010 2:30 pm    

I've been playing pedal steel (self-taught from books, videos, and forum help) for about 18 months, and I feel like I'm progressing at a reasonable pace. Palm blocking isn't much of a problem for me any more, and I can play along with just about any country or folk song without sounding too bad. (My playing often gets boring and repetitious, but it at least fits the music.) A few months ago I worked through Jeff Newman's Right Hand Alpha course, and I was relieved to find out that I hadn't been doing anything too egregiously wrong up to that point.

There's one thing that concerns me, though. Newman says the edge of the right hand should be parallel to the pickup. Mine is definitely not, as you can see in these pictures of my usual position:

When I really try hard to get parallel to the pickup, this is about as close as I can come, and my blocking gets a lot less reliable:

As far as I can tell, the main downside of my hand position is that I can't strum harmonics very well -- which is not really a part of my repertoire, anyway. Aside from that, it doesn't seem to hinder my playing.

My question is: should I work hard to fix this, or just stop worrying about it? And if you think it's a problem, do you have any ideas or exercises that might help?

Thanks,
John
Robert Murphy

West Virginia
Post  Posted 12 Dec 2010 2:40 pm    

I am a newbie but I can tell you that's what my hand looks like when I play Dobro. Billy Cooper said "stick your thumb way out there". Like at right angles to your picking fingers. That will put your hand more parellel to the pickup.
Paul Sutherland

Placerville, California
Post  Posted 12 Dec 2010 3:02 pm