| Visit Our Catalog at SteelGuitarShopper.com |

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Overall approach to the basics?
Brian Heller

Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Post  Posted 19 Jul 2010 10:47 pm    

Hi out there,
I have to say, as a beginning I'm still having a hard time seeing how to systematically learn this thing, and to learn the basics in the way that will pay-off the most down the line. I have a music degree and guitar experience, so the theory & terminology aren't even part of it.

But, for example, I have 3-4 pieces of educational material recommended here (books/DVDs) and have met once with a teacher, and each of them teaches an entirely different way (sometimes 2 ways) to play the major scale right out of the gate. One uses pedals, another uses bar movement, another is vertical, then more horizontal, etc. Then they're harmonized and it starts over again! I can imagine they all are useful in different places are all things to know eventually...But which ones make sense to start with, in terms of learning the instrument and being useful in the next step?

The basic approaches to chords and harmony are the same-- Some focus on all pedals and knee-levers right away, others on the bar, others combine them in different ways.

Hopefully this makes some sense and you can see the problem I'm hitting here. Don't get me wrong, I'm enjoying it and making progress. The technique stuff will come, but this is more about how to approach the process of learning the whole thing.

Any advice on what direction to steer when they are all available?

Many thanks,
Brian
Bob Hoffnar

Austin, Tx
Post  Posted 19 Jul 2010 10:57 pm    

Th real answer is whatever works is fine. You will need to learn all that stuff when you get down to to it. Pick something and start putting the hours in. There are no shortcuts or tricks. Learn a bunch of licks by rote or analyze scale and chord forms. I'm into the scales and chord forms method myself but that doesn't work for everybody.