| Visit Our Catalog at SteelGuitarShopper.com |

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Kona Weissenborn Strings and Tuning
Jay Greenberg

Illinois, USA
Post  Posted 9 Jul 2010 7:08 am    

Can anyone advise me on the subject of strings and tunings for a 1920's Kona Weissenborn acoustic Guitar scheduled to arrive on Wednesday from Norman's in Tarzana CA. I'm a complete newbie to guitar having played sax for 25 years,and my learning set up is a 1939 Rickenbacher B6 matched with a gibson EH-150 amp Which I play an hour or two a day. I've got it tuned to E7 according to the Mel Bay book I'm using. I'm hooked! I chose it since one goal is pedal steel so it's a good intro to E9. Still, there are times I want mobility or to play outside, and I loved the tone of the old Kona's. So, I don't think an 80 year old guitar can take the tenson of E7's low B and I wonder, what's best for tuning and what strings will be best for my guitar? Tuning to open E, drop down a step to open D, or am I just going to drive myself nuts biting off too much at once? any advice would be appreciated.

Ben Elder

La Crescenta, California, USA
Post  Posted 9 Jul 2010 2:40 pm    

I'm not as daring (or as supernaturally talented) as Bob Brozman who strings his Hawaiians with scary gauges. That said, he primarily uses modern reproductions by Bear Creek which maybe able to withstand more tension the old ones. (And yours is particularly old, going by the label and fretboard inlay pattern. This means you have a smaller bridgeplate than on later instruments. Weissenborn apparently learned a few things as he went over the years.)

First thing to know: these are NOT bakelite laps, nor are they even resonator guitars with metal cones and infrastructures. So you don't need to drive the mechanical parts with heavy-gauge strings and a sumo right-hand attack.