| Visit Our Catalog at SteelGuitarShopper.com |

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Dio
Johnny Rojas

Houston, Texas, USA
Post  Posted 20 May 2010 7:46 pm    

I'm surprised that no one on the board has recognized the life of the great figure that was Ronnie James Dio. He passed away this past Sunday here in Houston (literally within walking distance of my home) of stomach cancer (I've heard different reports that he died in L.A. or in Houston, but I tend to think it was here, considering the extent of his illness).

He was a true heavy metal legend, and whether you enjoyed his music or not, he was a major influence on musicians for the past thirty years. I am a jazz and country musician, but I can say that Dio and Black Sabbath (who he sang for on four albums over the years) were primary reasons I became so.

Here is a short overview of his life:

http://www.cbsnews.com/stories/2010/05/16/entertainment/main6490281.shtml

RIP, Ronnie James Dio
scott murray

Asheville, NC
Post  Posted 20 May 2010 8:30 pm    

I guess the Steel Forum isn't a hotbed for metalheads, but he was a giant in his field... all 5' 4" of him.

It's a shame that so many people would classify his music as godless or satanic, when he actually wrote and sang about self-reliance, conquering evil, and his own deeply felt spirituality.

He lived a long, full life and was quite an exceptional vocalist... another quality that many do not associate with heavy metal.

Here's a version of RED TOP he cut back in 1963. Pretty cool.

RIP DIO

Last edited by scott murray on 27 May 2010 10:06 am; edited 1 time in total
Mike Neer

NJ
Post  Posted 20 May 2010 8:59 pm