| Visit Our Catalog at SteelGuitarShopper.com |

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Where to start....
William Sender

Syracuse, NY via Nashville, TN via Scranton, PA
Post  Posted 3 Mar 2010 4:31 pm    

Hi guys. This is my first post, so be gentle! I just bought my first steel (Carter Starter) at the ripe old age of 25, hoping it's not too late to start playing. I've been playing guitar for about 15 years, and have a descent knowledge of theory and such.

Any way, where the hell do I start?! I'm a bit overwhelmed right now, not gonna lie.Whoa! So, I have some questions, hoping someone might be as kind to answer them...

1. I have a Ernie Ball VP1 Volume Pedal, will that be okay for the steel too?

2. Instructional material. What's good, what's not so good?

3. Post a few tips for the TRUE novice, I haven't even touched the thing yet. I figure, there is over 10,000 years of collective knowledge, so I'd like to hear some of it!

Thanks in advance guys.
Ben Jones

Seattle, Washington, USA
Post  Posted 3 Mar 2010 4:46 pm    

where to start?

well, thats an hour lesson at least Laughing

how to hold the bar, how to put your fingerpicks on not upside down etc.

where are you at? maybe we can help find a teacher for you? I think a lesson is the best way to start.

I understand tho that thats not always possible.

Bruce Boutons dvd was helpful to me as a stone cold beginner.
William Sender

Post  Posted 3 Mar 2010 5:00 pm    

I'm in upstate NY, the Syracuse area.

I believe you put the pick on the pad side of your finger, correct?

Also.... what are grips and blocking?
Ricky Hagan

Elm City N.C. U.S.A.
Post  Posted 3 Mar 2010 5:01 pm    

The Ernie Ball pedal will be fine to learn with.I'm sure you know how to put the picks on.Check with any of Jeff Newmans stuff.He has a great selection of stuff available for beginers.Look in the instuction section of the forum for Jeffaran College.If I can help you select the right stuff,email me
Larry Jamieson

Walton, NY USA