| Visit Our Catalog at SteelGuitarShopper.com |

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Having trouble getting used to fingerpicks? Not anymore!!!
Don Hinkle

Springfield Illinois, USA
Post  Posted 25 Oct 2009 2:17 pm    

Granted, I have only been playing pedal steel for a few months but I have been a working musician for over 25 years. I play telecaster in a few different country bands and have been around the block at least once (or more than half way).

I play my tele with a flat pick and use middle & ring fingers for hybrid finger picking which is such a necessity in country guitar playing.

For me , the biggest problem with playing steel was not being able to feel the strings with my fingers. I felt like edward scissorhands with finger picks on. This forced me to play with a thumb pick and bare fingers on pointer and middle fingers... I could pick and block great but I just couldn't get a good tone.. not bright enough. I also glued on fake nails and that improved my tone a great deal as well - BUT, my Tele playing suffered. And I couldnt hardly zip my pants with my right hand (I know, Too much info)

Ok, enough of this story (I have read many posts on this forum that start this way) I saw where someone on this forum suggested using ProPik Finger-tone picks. I didnt see where anyone tried them and liked/disliked them so I bought a set of the meduims and a set of the Larges.

WOW! I can not believe that I can play with finger picks!!! The sound is wonderful.. I am so extremely happy. They just arrived on 3 days ago and within 15 minutes I could play 80% as well as bare fingered. I had gigs Friday & Saturday and by 2nd set Friday, I am 100% up to speed. Did I mention that I am happy about this?

Here is a website for the pics;

http://www.guptillmusic.com/propik/fingertone.html
Fender guitars
Fender amps
Alan Brookes

Brummy living in Southern California
Post  Posted 25 Oct 2009 4:13 pm    

http://www.guptillmusic.com/propik/product.html