| Visit Our Catalog at SteelGuitarShopper.com |

Goto page 1, 2  Next
Reply to topic
Author Topic:  steel guitar amp
Frank Shoptaugh

Arizona, USA
Post  Posted 25 Jul 2009 2:32 pm    

Hello everyone, I need some advice on which amp is the best for a steel guitar. I am fairly new to steel guitar and would appreciate any help i can get. Thanks; frank Very Happy

Last edited by Frank Shoptaugh on 27 Jul 2009 3:56 am; edited 1 time in total
Paul Norman

Washington, North Carolina, USA
Post  Posted 25 Jul 2009 2:58 pm    

Peavey Nashville 112 best all around for small and big jobs and light.
Lee Baucum

McAllen, Texas (Extreme South) The Final Frontier
Post  Posted 25 Jul 2009 3:02 pm     Re: steel guitar amp

Frank Shoptaugh wrote:
Hello everyone, I need some advise on which amp is the best for a steel guitar. I am fairly new to steel guitar and would appreciate any help i can get. Thanks; frank Very Happy

Be forwarned! When you ask what is "best", you will get lots and lots of opinions and favorites. There really is no "best".

There are only two options as I see it.
Either I'm right, or there is a sinister conspiracy to conceal the fact that I'm right.

Williams Keyless S-10, BMI S-10, Evans FET-500LV, Fender Steel King, 2 Roland Cube 80XL's,
Sarno FreeLoader, Goodrich Passive Volume Pedals, Vintage ACE Pack-A-Seat
Dave Harmonson

Seattle, Wa
Post  Posted 25 Jul 2009 3:06 pm    

If you can try to listen to some steel players and chek out what they're using. Any of the Peavey steel amps are fine. Nashville 112, Nashville 400, or the older Peavey LTD or Session 400. My favorite these days is my Fender Vibrosonic for a more vintage sound. I also have an Evans FET 500 that is a great steel amp. You just need something with enough power to sound clean.
Herb Steiner

Spicewood TX 78669
Post  Posted 25 Jul 2009 3:58 pm    

Frank
I've been playing professionally since the mid-60's and let me tell you, I've played through all of them!