| Visit Our Catalog at SteelGuitarShopper.com |

Goto page 1, 2  Next
Reply to topic
Author Topic:  beginning steel player
Karen Sarkisian

Boston, MA, USA
Post  Posted 30 Mar 2009 4:19 am    

Just wanted to say hello. I am buying a GFI s-10 from Bobbe Seymour with hopes of learning to play pedal steel. I have been playing guitar for 30 years. Any recommendations from seasoned players on instructional books or dvd's to get me started ? thanks.
Robert Cook

Collierville,TN
Post  Posted 30 Mar 2009 4:47 am    

Tell Bobbe to jump start you with some of his DVDs. They are very informative and I've used a lot of them. He is such a cool guy that he might even throw in one of his CDs on the deal.

Providence, Rhode Island
Post  Posted 30 Mar 2009 6:44 am    

Karen, if you are near the Pioneer Valley, you might get a few lessons with Doug Baumier.

DVDs are great . . . but there is nothing like a person-to-person encounter over a couple of steels! Dougie has been teaching for years, too.

Chris
Jerry Bull

Republic, MO, USA
Post  Posted 30 Mar 2009 10:15 am