| Visit Our Catalog at SteelGuitarShopper.com |

Goto page 1, 2  Next
Reply to topic
Author Topic:  shaping your picks (newbie)
Jeremy Long

Nashville, TN
Post  Posted 15 Oct 2008 11:49 pm    

I am a bit confused on the issue of bending your picks. I am new to the PSG and have certainly not had to use metal finger picks till now. I've talked to some local steel players who bend their picks so the pick strikes the string at the perfect angle. Made sense to me but I was picking the brain of Billy Phelps at the NAMM show this year and he said "NEVER" bend my picks...yet his were bent. Wow...I'm thoroughly confused now. Any thoughts please?

Jeremy
Donny Hinson

Glen Burnie, Md. U.S.A.
Post  Posted 16 Oct 2008 2:57 am    

Maybe he meant "never bend my picks" (if you're using them). At any rate, I can say without doubt that most all players shape their picks for a comfortable fit.

Why wouldn't you?
Robert Cook

Collierville,TN
Post  Posted 16 Oct 2008 5:21 am    

My steel instructor showed me how to gently shape the pick to fit the curvature of my finger by using a pair of needle nose pliers. I tried with just my fingers and the pliers did a much better job of shaping the end of the pick right where I needed it.

Amarillo,Tx
Post  Posted 16 Oct 2008 8:26 am    

Jeff Newman picks are pre-bent and have the perfect bend in the blade for me. Bend and taper the finger wrap to your liking and comfort.

Brunswick Ohio, USA
Post  Posted 16 Oct 2008 8:52 am    

I have used "national" picks since the late 50's, for banjo, and later when I got my steel. I have always left the pick bent in the same position it was stamped out with. Have had no problems in 50 years. But I have always used 2 pair of needle nose pliers to bend the band to fit my fingers. Just my 2 cents again.

Glen Burnie, Md. U.S.A.
Post  Posted 16 Oct 2008 10:15 am    

Quote:
I've talked to some local steel players who bend their picks so the pick strikes the string at the perfect angle.