| Visit Our Catalog at SteelGuitarShopper.com |

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Questions from a newbie
Bill Ridgeway

Arizona, USA
Post  Posted 28 Aug 2008 7:00 pm    

Is it of much advantage to put a 5th knee lever on a 3 pedal 10 string?
What are the major differences in Peavey Nashville amps and Sessions or the Bandit series. I don't plan to do gigs so would a NV 112 be a good choice for a home amp?
Sonny Priddy

Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA, R.I.P.
Post  Posted 28 Aug 2008 7:12 pm     amp.

Nashville 112 All The Way. SONNY.
Stan Paxton

1/2 & 1/2 Florida and Tenn, USA (old Missouri boy gone South)
Post  Posted 28 Aug 2008 7:17 pm    

Welcome Bill, to the steel guitar zone Whoa! I'm not technically up on the differences & stuff on those Amps you mentioned, but as a user, I would say that the N-112 can't be beat for a home amp, or away from home either for that matter. Cool As to the 5th lever, it has become almost a standard item in past few years, and gives you just that much more versatility in your playing. Matter of personal choice really, a lot of great players still don't use a 5th lever. (how's that for ambiguity!) Enjoy the Forum.........
Mullen Lacquer SD 10, 3 & 5; Mullen Mica S 10 1/2 pad, 3 & 5; BJS Bars; LTD400, Nashville 112, DD-3, RV-3, Hilton VP . -- Gold Tone PBS sq neck; Wechter Scheerhorn sq neck. -- "Experience is the thing you have left when everything else is gone." -anon.-
Bill Ridgeway

Arizona, USA
Post  Posted 28 Aug 2008 10:02 pm    

Thanks for the info guys, now to see if I can find a NV-112.
How does a sessions 400 or bandit 112 sound in comparison to the NV-112? I'm looking for a lower, mellow, warmer tone. This Crate I have sounds like the perverbial cans on a string. Playing ( or trying to) a Stage one through it so doubt it's the Gee tar.
Tomi Graso

Sydney / Australia
Post  Posted 29 Aug 2008 6:02 am    

Hey Bill,

Tomi here, I am a new member here as well....