| Visit Our Catalog at SteelGuitarShopper.com |

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  New Gig Scam ?
Stan Townsend

Post  Posted 25 Jun 2008 11:40 am    

I received a request from a person in France to provide music at a gig near Fresno, CA. Google maps shows a vacant lot for the gig location. I can't figure out exactly how the scam works, but he refuses to call on a landline, only email correspondence. Does anyone know what the angle is? Here's the email:

Hello, How is Business, My name is Carl Kennedy I am presently in Lyon , France here ,I work as a Videographer. The reason why I am contacting you is that my wife Sharron will be Celebrating her 40th Birthday Party soon, precisely on the 20th September, 2008. Please check your avalability for this date because I will like you to take care of the Music aspect of the event. I came across your profile and am impressed with your services,experience,of course is okay by me. The venue address of the event is 7705 Walnut Avenue Winton CA 95388 USA. We are expecting about 80-100 guest & its going to be an indoor party. The party starts 12pm-5pm according to our program of the event. You are to start performing when it is 1pm till the end of the party. There will no be any dance from guest nor familly for any reason what w e only need from you is for you to just give us interesting music. All expenses would be taken care of by me;Please I want the best service from you, because she is my only wife & i love her so much. So your best production is needed at this occasion. Pls Let me know your CHARGES to work for 4 Hours on that day,1pm -5pm when the event will be ending,moreso let me know how you plan to move down here with your electronics? I will want to put it to your notice that i will take care of your hotel only if requested from you,please let me know how many of you will be comming for this event? I hope to read from you soon & also to have your service QUOTE which will only include your travel,feeding, and your service f