| Visit Our Catalog at SteelGuitarShopper.com |

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  New to forum
Phill Morris

South Wales, UK
Post  Posted 7 Jan 2007 9:01 am    

Hello everyone.
I am a newbie to the forum and to playng steel guitar , and I have a coupla questions for you all.
Firstly I have a pedal steel with a name of Thinline mark I on it .. made in Michigan . Does anyone know of any history of this machine . It is a ten string with one knee lever and three pedals.
I have set the guitar up .. as it was a bit of a wreck when I got it ( even had some nylon strings on it ) .. but I am unsure as to what the pedals are supposed to do . any advise would be great.
secondly could anyone give me a contact for a UK supplier of parts for the steel as I would like to refurbish the guitar mechanics wise.
Many thanks
Phill
Papa Joe Pollick

Swanton, Ohio
Post  Posted 7 Jan 2007 9:44 am    

Very Happy Hey Phill,welcome aboard.Can't help with identifing your guitar,but Winnie Winston's book and CD is the way to start learning the steel.Complete instructions on assembly and set up.
There will be others here,more knowledgeable then I,that will be glad to assist you.Have fun my friend,you're on your way. PJ
Larry Strawn

Golden Valley, Arizona, R.I.P.
Post  Posted 7 Jan 2007 12:01 pm    

Welcome Phil,
I can't give you any info on your steel ether, but welcome to the Forum lots of great people here! Some one will be along who can help you identify your guitar. Very Happy

Larry
Phill Morris

South Wales, UK
Post  Posted 7 Jan 2007 12:24 pm    

Thanks for the welcome guys ..
I will get some piccis up of the guitar .. only thing is .. I have modified a tad .
It was plain Beech before I started .. it now has aluminium edges and bubinga front veneer added and a veneer fretboard ( the original fell off ). I have repced the tuners with grover and improverd the wiring and jack out socket and generally cleaned and polished the guitar .
Phill
Phill Morris

South Wales, UK